Default, member engaged and pension fund of the year shortlists revealed



Shortlists for the Conexus Financial Superannuation Awards have been released.

The funds recognised as having the best MySuper default products, the best member engaged services, and the best pension funds in the past year have all been named in advance of the awards ceremony at Palladium at Crown, Melbourne, on March 3, 2016.


The funds nominated for the three awards, in alphabetical order, are:

Default fund of the year:


Plum Superannuation Fund




Member engaged fund of the year:

Plum Superannuation Fund





Pension fund of the year:






These are the weightings used by the independent awards committee in determining the shortlists:

  • Default fund of the year: investment proposition, 60 per cent; fees, 20 per cent; member services, 10 per cent; and insurance, 10 per cent.
  • Pension fund of the year: investment proposition, 40 per cent; member services, 30 per cent; fees, 20 per cent; and pension product design, 10 per cent.
  • Member engaged fund of the year: website, 21.5 per cent; advice, 21.5 per cent; calculators, 21 per cent; ancillary, KPIs and complaints all 12 per cent each.


The independent awards committee was chosen for its broad range of stakeholders, with consumer groups, industry knowledge and industry analysts all represented. The committee selected those on the shortlists by breaking down a super fund into the key components and placing weightings on what they considered to be the most important criteria. Rice Warner then ran a rigorous quantitative assessment of entrants based on those weightings.

The members of the nomination committee were:

  • Nick Sherry – committee chair

Senior adviser, superannuation and pensions, Citi; chairman, FNZ; former Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Law; former Senator for Tasmania

  • Tom Garcia

Chief executive, Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees

  • Alan Kirkland

Chief executive officer, CHOICE

  • Sally Loane

Chief executive officer, Financial Services Council

  • Michael Rice

Chief executive officer, Rice Warner

  • The Hon Bernie Ripoll MP

Federal Member for Oxley; Former Shadow Minister for Financial Services and Superannuation; Former chair of the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Corporations and Financial Services

  • Colin Tate

Chief executive, Conexus Financial

The winners of the Conexus Financial Superannuation Awards 2016 will be unveiled at a special black tie event at Palladium at Crown, Melbourne on March 3, 2016. We invite you to purchase tables of 10 or single tickets by clicking here.

Conexus Financial has drawn on its extensive contacts and resources to involve an esteemed list if VIPs to present the awards and further honour the important contribution the superannuation sector makes to Australian society and the economy.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please sign up or log in to post a comment

Benefits of becoming a member:
– Be informed on what matters in your industry
– Stay current on important industry events
– Build your own personal news list

Sign Up